PSE Awards

For the first time outstanding researchers will be honoured by the European Joint Committee on Plasma Surface Engineering with the PSE Awards. The PSE Leading Scientist Award is intended to highlight an approved researcher with pioneering contributions in science or technology of plasma and ion surface engineering. Besides this award, three young researchers or graduate students will be honoured with the PSE Early Career Award for their work and engagement in the field.

The Award Ceremony will take place during the Conference Dinner of PSE 2018 on Wednesday, September 19, 2018 from 19:00 - 23:00 in the Kurhaus Krün near to Garmisch-Partenkirchen in Krün. Enjoy an interesting evening with nice colleagues, good food and more highlights like the festivity "30 years of PSE Conferences". A Bus transfer will be offered.

Please notice, that a separate ticket and registration for the Conference Dinner is required.


Award Ceremony
Conference Dinner

September 19, 2018

7:00 p.m. - 11:00 p.m.


PSE Award Winners 2018

PSE Leading Scientist Award 2018

Prof. Marcela Bilek
University of Sydney, Australia

Professor Bilek is an outstanding researcher and  has made pioneering contributions in the fields of science or technology of plasma surface engineering. She has achieved very important results and leading publications in different fields  just to name a few: development of plasma immersion ion implantation and deposition, HiPIMS, surface modification by energetic particles, activation and functionalization of organic materials and radical embedded nanoparticles. The PSE Leading Scientist Award honours  also her work and engagement in the field of biotechnological applications. She has convinced biologists and medical researchers to co-operate and thus created interdisciplinary research teams which have obtained excellent results.


Plenary Winners Lecture

"Plasma surface engineering to create one-step multi-functionalisable surfaces and nanoparticles: Fundamentals and applications"

September 19, 2018
Room Richard Strauss
14:20 - 15:05


PSE Early Career Award 2018

Dr. Sebastian Calderon Velsco

International Iberian Nanotechnology Laboratory, Braga, Portugal
Keynote Lecture: "Magnetron Sputtering as a Tool for Producing Metallic and Bimetallic Multifunctional Nanoparticles: The Case of Zn-Fe"
Tuesday, September 18, 2018, Room Zugspitze, 9:25 - 9:55

Dr. Damien Thiry

University of Mons, Mons, Belgium
Keynote Lecture: "The wrinkling concept applied to plasma polymer films: a novel route for controlling their nano-architecture"
Wednesday, September 19, 2018, Room Zugspitze, 16:45 - 17:15

Dr. Filipe Daniel Fernandes

University of Minho, Minho, Portugal
Keynote Lecture: "Self-lubricant and multilayered coatings as a solution for machining operations"
Tuesday, September 18, 2018, Room Richard Strauss, 15:15 - 15:45

These three young researchers are honoured for their scientific work and achievements during their short careers. All three candidates showed an excellent scientific work, acquired a number of projects and cooperations and appear as promising scientific talents for the development and enrichment of our field of plasma and ions surface technologies.


This activities are supported by VAT Group AG.